1841 Census—South Australia

The following searchable database will disclose the names in the South Australian 1841 Census.

The material is arranged into the districts proclaimed in the province at the time (see map).

District A: north of Bay Road (now Anzac Highway) & Greenhill Road excluding Adelaide but including Port Adelaide and west of Mt Lofty.
District B: south of Bay Road and Greenhill Road to 3510 and west of Mt Lofty.
District C: from 3510 [i.e. mouth of the Onkaparinga River] to 3520 [i.e. base of Sellicks Hill] and west of Mt Lofty.
Adelaide Metropolitan villages: Albert Town (Alberton); Bowden; Goodwood; Hindmarsh; Islington; Kensington; Klemzig; Macgill (Magill); Port Adelaide; Prospect; Thebarton; Unley; Walkerville.
Encounter Bay District including Currency Creek and Inman valley.
Mount Barker District including Mr Smillie and Mr Hack and the Angas Surveys.
Northern Districts: included Houghton area, Gawler and the Barossa Valley.
Port Lincoln
Many people living within the metropolitan area have been researched and biographical data located.

You can access further information by paying a fee for a single lookup including the purchase of a print of the enumerators' sheet from Adelaide Proformat.

Alternatively, you can purchase a copy of the full census on CD. This product includes a fully searchable index, biographies of many listed people and scanned enumerators' sheets.

Available from Gould Genealogy.

Surname:   tips

Click to email Proformat Subscribe