The German Empire

The German Empire refers to Germany during the period from the unification of Germany and proclamation of Wilhelm I as German Emperor on 18 January 1871, to 1918, when it became a federal republic after defeat in World War I and the abdication of the Emperor, Wilhelm II.

The German Empire consisted of 26 territories most ruled by royal families. The Kingdom of Prussia contained most of the population and most of the territory.

Country Capital Code
1. Prussia Berlin PRE
2. Bavaria Munich BAV
3. Saxony Dresden KSA
4. Wurttemberg Stuttgart WUE
Grand duchies
5. Baden Karlsruhe BAD
6. Hesse Darmstadt GHE
7. Mecklenburg-Schwerin Schwerin MSW
8. Mecklenburg-Strelitz Neustrelitz MST
9. Oldenburg Oldenburg OLD
10. Saxe-Weimar-Eisenach (Saxony from 1877) Weimar SWE
11. Anhalt Dessau ANH
12. Brunswick Braunschweig BSW
13. Saxe-Altenburg Altenburg SAB
14. Saxe-Coburg-Gotha Coburg SCG
15. Saxe-Meinigen Meiningen SME
16. Lippe Detmold LIP
17. Reuss, junior line Gera REJ
18. Reuss, senior line Greiz REU
19. Schaumburg-Lippe Buckeburg SLP
20. Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt Rudolstadt SRU
21. Schwarzburg-Sondershausen Sondershausen SSD
22. Waldeck-Pyrmont Arolsen WAL
Free Hanseatic cities
23. Bremen Bremen BRM
24. Hamburg Hamburg HBG
25. Lubeck Lubeck LUE
Imperial territory
26. Alsace-Lorraine (Elsass-Lothr) Strassburg ELO

The larger regions in the above table were subdivided:

Country State Capital Code
1. Prussia Berlin Berlin BER
Brandenburg Potsdam BB
East Prussia Konigsberg OPR
Hanover Hanover HAN
Hesse-Nassau Kassel  
Hohenzollern Sigmaringen HOH
Pomerania Stettin POM
Posen Posen POS
Rhine Province Koblenz  
Saxony Magdeburg SAC
Schleswig-Holstein Kiel SHO
Silesia Breslau SCI
West Prussia Danzig WPR
Westphalia Munster WFA
2. Bavaria Lower Bavaria Landshut  
Lower Franconia and Aschaffenburg Wurzburg  
Middle Franconia Ansbach  
Palatinate Speyer  
Upper Bavaria Augsburg  
Upper Franconia Bayreuth  
Upper Palatinate and Ratisbon Regensburg  
3. Saxony Bauzen Bauzen  
Dresden Dresden  
Leipzig Leipzig LPZ
Zwickau Zwickau  
4. Wurttemberg Black Forest Reutingen  
Danube Ulm  
Jagst Ellwangen  
Neckar Stuttgart  
6. Hesse Rhine-Hesse Mainz  
Starkenburg Darmestadt  
Upper Hesse Giessen  
26. Alsace-Lorraine Lorraine Metz LOT
Lower Alsace Strassburg  
Upper Alsace Colmar

The German Confederation

The German Confederation was created by the Congress of Vienna on 8 June 1815 after the end of the Napoleonic Wars. It came to an end as a result of the Austro-Prussian War of 1866 that resulted in the North German Confederation in 1867 which included Prussia but excluded Austria and the South German states. During November 1870 the four southern states joined the North German Confederation by treaty. 

On 10 December 1870 the North German Confederation was renamed the German Empire and gave the title of German Emperor to the King of Prussia as President of the Confederation.

See the guide: German Confederation

Click to email Proformat Subscribe